July 14, 2023
hrs. 19.00

Dayoon You, violin
Grzegorz Skrobiński, piano 

Ignacy Jan Paderewski: Sonata for violin and piano in A minor op. 13 

Henryk Wieniawski: Variations on a theme op. 15

*** break*** 

Witold Lutoslawski: Subito

Karol Szymanowski: Sonata for piano and violin in D minor op. 9

Dayoon You

Born in 2001. Has been playing the violin since the age of 6. A graduate of Korea National University of Arts, he is currently continuing his education at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin. He won first prize in the Sungjung Competition, first prize in the Shinhan Music Award and a special prize in the ARD International Music Competition. He has played, among others, with the Karlovy Vary Symphony Orchestra and the South Czech Philharmonic Orchestra at the Cesky Krumlov Festival.

Grzegorz Skrobiński

Graduate of the Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw. Studied under the direction of Prof. Elżbieta Tarnawska, Prof. Katarzyna Jankowska-Borzykowska and Prof. Andrzej Bauer. Laureate of many competitions. Scholarship holder of the Queen of Belgium (2003). He has given concerts on the most important stages in Poland: National Philharmonic, A. Rubinstein Philharmonic in Lodz, Wroclaw Philharmonic, Frederic Chopin Society, Royal Castle, Royal Łazienki, Music Academies in Lodz, Gdansk, Wroclaw, Poznan, Antonin Palace, Palace in Kąśna Dolna (Bravo Maestro Festival, where guests included: K. Jakowicz, S. Kamasa, P. Pławner, K. Radziwonowicz). He has performed in Austria, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland, Germany, Japan, Tunisia and other countries. He has collaborated with world-renowned pedagogues such as Boris Berman, Dang Thai Son, Dominique Merlet, Viera Nossina, Ewa Pobłocka, Andrzej Tatarski, Jerzy Marchwiński, Kazimierz Michalik, Erik Tawaststjerna, Oxana Yablonskaya, Hiroko Nakamura, Jacques Rouvier, Sergei Babayan, John O'Connor, Kevin Kenner and others. In 2003, he performed with the world-famous Talich String Quartet. Also that year, he took part in the Waterloo Chamber Music Festival, whose participants included: Mischa Maisky, Julian Rachlin, Pinchas Zukermann, Roby Lakatos, Vitaly Samoshko. On 2 March 2007, he performed at the Wladyslaw Bartoszewski jubilee concert, performing, among others, Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 36 by S. Rachmaninov. In 2008, he was invited to the Music Academy festival in Hamamatsu (Japan). He performed with such musicians as Jakub Jakowicz, Bartłomiej Nizioł, Szymon Krzeszowiec, Agata Szymczewska, Piotr Janosik, as well as Urszula Kryger, Lutosławski Quartet, Bartosz Bryła, Piotr Reichert, Lidia Grzanka-Urbaniak, Sebastian Wypych. In 2010 he performed together with the actor Krzysztof Kolberger in the performance entitled 'Good evening, Monsieur Chopin', which took place within the framework of the festival 'Two Theatres – Sopot 2010'. Grzegorz Skrobiński performed selected works by Fryderyk Chopin to poetry presented by Krzysztof Kolberger. Since 2010 Grzegorz Skrobiński has been an assistant in the Department of Piano Chamber Music.
Paderewski wrote his only violin sonata in 1885, during his stay in Vienna, where he perfected his piano playing under Theodor Leschetizky. The piece was first performed a few months later in Warsaw, at a concert filled entirely with Paderewski's works. It was then played by the author's friend Władysław Górski. And today violinists eagerly reach for this work, saturated with a wealth of diverse emotions and endowed with a virtuoso "claw".

Theme original varie Op. 15 was written while Wieniawski was on a tour of East Prussian cities (1854). He dedicated the piece to the concertmaster of the Leipzig Gewandhaus orchestra, Rajmund Dreyschock, whom he met during his debut concert at that renowned institution. The work does not differ in musical content from the compositions Wieniawski wrote with his performances for the general public in mind. It is full of virtuoso effects (playing in octaves, chords, flageolets, brilliant passages, staccato), and its narrative is full of surprises: the variations are framed by a kind of virtuoso cadenza; it concludes with a brilliant waltz.

Among the few violin sonatas by Polish composers from the early 20th century is Karol Szymanowski's Sonata for Piano and Violin in D minor Op. 9 (1904). And this work alludes to the Romantic idiom of the sonata as a genre in which the composer can demonstrate a comprehensive knowledge of the technique and an ability to strictly manage the form. At a similar time Szymanowski wrote two more piano sonatas, which betrayed the serious compositional ambitions of the young composer, then still a composition student at the Warsaw Academy.

The miniature Subito is one of Lutosławski's last works. It was written as a compulsory piece for a violin competition in Indianapolis and, as befits a competition piece, demands a great deal from the performer. Its features include sudden contrasts of rhythm, dynamics and articulation.

Magdalena Dziadek